Rock Soup list: Writing, Storytelling, Speech etc.

Each Wednesday I post to a blog called Rock Soup. It is a blog that touches upon the creative process of writing, story telling, presentations and other areas of the imagination. Much of the content comes from lectures I attended and took notes on. I share my notes for the edification of others. I’ll try to document the source of the knowledge as opportunity permits.

I thought I’d put the last two years here and I’ll see if I can update it from time to time.
Bungee Plot: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/03/bungee-plot-2112/
Pet Projects gone wild: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/03/pet-projects-gone-wild-2812/
List of Books Publishers Want: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/03/list-of-books-that-publishers-want-21512/
Collect Data and Ask Questions: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/03/collected-data-and-ask-questions-22212/
Useful story telling techniques I’ve observed at Weber State Story Telling Festival: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/03/useful-story-telling-techniques-ive-observed-at-weber-state-story-telling-festival-22912/
Fiction Panel with Dean Hughes, Anita Stansfield and Stephen Tuttle: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/03/fiction-panel-with-dean-hughes-anita-stansfield-and-stephen-tuttle-31412/
Blog Your Passion: My notes from a presentation by Leigh Anne Wilkes: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/03/blog-your-passion-my-notes-from-a-presentation-by-leigh-anne-wilkes-31412/
Writer’s Digest on its 101 Best Websites for Writers: http://www.melvagifford.com/category/rock-soup/page/9/
Presenting a Facebook image: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/10/presenting-a-facebook-image/
Promoting my Inventions: Shader, GrocGrip, Hippy: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/04/17/promoting-my-inventions-shader-grocgrip-hippy/
Notes on: Writing up A personal History: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/05/01/notes-on-writing-up-a-personal-history/
Blog Infrastructure: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/05/16/notes-on-blog-infrastructure/
Avoiding the one trick pony in creativity: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/05/23/avoiding-the-one-trick-pony-in-creativity/
Press Contacts for Utah for when you want to send out a press releases: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/05/30/here-are-press-contacts-for-utah-for-when-you-want-to-send-out-a-press-release-to-promote-an-event-or-book/
Writing for Young Adults (Conduit panel): http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/06/05/writing-for-young-adults-conduit-panel/
How to get published: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/06/12/how-to-get-published-conduit-panel/
Gods and mythology in Fantasy (Conduit panel): http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/07/01/writing-fantasy-that-isnt-base-upon-europes-middle-agesit-panel/
Writing Fantasy that isn’t base upon Europe’s middle-ages (Conduit panel): http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/07/01/writing-fantasy-that-isnt-base-upon-europes-middle-agesit-panel/
My next writing project: EBooks on successful community events: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/07/04/my-next-writing-project-ebooks-on-successful-community-events/
Troubleshooting Microphones during Story telling Events: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/07/11/troubleshooting-microphones-during-story-telling-events/
When conducting an Interview: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/07/18/when-conducting-an-interview/
What I learned telling stories to a class of deaf or special needs students: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/07/25/what-i-learned-telling-stories-to-a-class-of-deaf-or-special-needs-students/
Today’s topic on creativity is dialog tags: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/08/01/todays-topic-on-creativity-is-dialog-tags/
Visit to a sound studio at PBS radio station KPCW in Park City: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/08/08/visit-to-a-sound-studio-at-pbs-radio-station-kpcw-in-park-city/
Beyond Twilight Panel: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/08/15/beyond-twilight-panel/
Passive voice Sites: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/08/22/passive-voice-sites/
The creativity and dimensions behind quilts: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/08/29/the-creativity-and-dimensions-behind-quilts/
Insights on writing and publishing by Rachel Muses: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/09/05/insights-on-writing-and-publishing-by-rachel-muses/
From the condo, writing suggestions: From the condo, writing suggestions
More notes from the condo on writing: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/09/13/notes-on-writing/
Review of WSC event w/ Kevin Cordi by Kathleen Lund: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/09/18/review-of-wsc-event-w-kevin-cordi-by-kathleen-lund/
Historical fiction advice from author Lee Nelson: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/09/25/historical-fiction-advice-from-author-lee-nelson/
Tips on writing from author Rachel Muses: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/10/02/tips-on-writing-from-author-rachel-muses/
Historical Research Advice from author Lee Nelson: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/10/09/historical-research-advice-from-author-lee-nelson/
How to Make Characters Real from Anita Stanfield: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/10/16/how-to-make-characters-real-from-anita-stanfield/
Best and worse writing advice given LTUE 2011: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/10/24/best-and-worse-writing-advice-given-ltue-2011/
Writing Action: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/10/31/writing-action-notes-from-past-ltue-symposium/
Character Arch: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/11/07/character-arch/
How to scare people: from LTUE: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/11/14/how-to-scare-people-from-ltue/
Killer Openings LTUE panel: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/11/21/killer-openings/
Dealing with Deadlines: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/11/28/dealing-with-deadlines/
Plots, Subplots and Foreshadowing: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/12/05/plots-subplots-and-foreshadowing/
Slush piles (LTUE): http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/12/11/slush-piles-ltue/
Business of Writing: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/12/19/business-of-writing/
Writing information from fellow writers: http://www.melvagifford.com/2012/12/26/writing-information-from-fellow-writers/
Finding a story: a presentation by Steffani Raff: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/01/03/finding-a-story-a-presentation-by-steffani-raff/
The art of Podcasting: LTUE symposium: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/01/08/the-art-of-podcasting/
Writing nonfiction: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/01/16/writing-nonfiction/
Writing panel by Josie Kilpack, Greg Park, Stephen Peck: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/01/23/writing-panel-by-josie-kilpack-greg-park-stephen-peck/
I want to write a book, baby step One: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/01/25/i-want-to-write-a-book-baby-step-one/
Marketing and Promotion, LTUE: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/01/29/marketing-and-promotion-panel-ltue-symposium/
Does your book have a sound track: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/02/05/does-your-book-have-a-sound-track/
Observations of storyteller Laura Sims: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/02/12/observations-of-storyteller-laura-sims/
Dealing with Deadlines: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/02/20/dealing-with-deadlines-2/
How to write a Good Short Story: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/02/26/how-to-write-a-good-short-story/
What is an Agent and what can they do for you: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/03/06/what-is-an-agent-and-what-can-they-do-for-you/
Crucibles by guest Blogger Dave Farland: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/03/12/crucibles-by-guest-blogger-dave-farland/
Broadening our abilities in speech via Toastmasters: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/03/19/broadening-our-abilities-in-speech-via-toastmasters/
Dialog Tags and Speech Patterns: LTUE panel:http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/03/26/dialog-tags-and-speech-patterns/
Characters’ Morals/Theology: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/04/02/characters-moralstheology/
Book bomb in support for Dave & Mary Wolverton and their son: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/04/09/book-bomb-in-support-of-dave-mary-wolverton-and-their-son/
Plot-Storming from character: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/04/16/plot-storming-from-character/
What you Can/Can’t do in a YA novel: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/04/23/what-you-cancant-do-in-a-ya-novel/
How to get and develop Killer Story Ideas: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/04/30/how-to-get-and-develop-killer-story-ideas/
How to do well in a toastmaster’s speech contest: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/05/08/how-to-do-well-in-a-toastmasters-speech-contest/
What I wish I had done: A guide to New Writers: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/05/14/what-i-wish-i-had-done-if-i-could-do-it-all-over-again-a-guide-to-new-writers/
How to recover from writing slumps: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/05/21/how-to-recover-from-writing-slumps/
World building the Patricia Wrede way: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/05/29/world-building-the-patricia-wrede-way/
Suggestions for giving a good presentation: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/06/04/suggestions-for-giving-a-good-presentation/
Punching up your Presentations: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/06/11/punching-up-your-presentations/
Using vision boards to create new stories: Using vision boards to create new stories: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/06/18/using-vision-boards-to-create-new-stories/
Making it personal: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/06/25/making-it-personal/
Setting in your story: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/07/02/setting-in-your-story/
Blogging panel: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/07/10/blogging-panel/
Getting recommendations from contacts in LinkedIn: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/07/17/getting-recommendations-from-contacts-in-linkedin/
Relating school knowledge to life, brainstorming: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/07/24/relating-school-knowledge-to-life-a-brainstorming-session/
Making topics in school relevant: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/07/30/making-topics-in-school-relevant/
Using technology to promote your storytelling: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/08/06/using-technology-to-promote-your-storytelling/
Using technology to organize and track your stories: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/08/13/using-technology-to-organize-and-track-your-stories/
Suggestions for Storytelling: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/08/20/suggestions-for-storytelling/
What is a humorous speech? http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/08/27/what-is-a-humorous-speech/
Running my first speech contest: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/09/03/running-my-first-speech-contest/
How to read to learn writing: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/09/10/how-to-read-to-learn-writing/
For the Love of Romance: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/09/17/for-the-love-of-romance/
Technology, tools of the trade: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/09/24/technology-tools-of-the-trade/
First-time novelists: http://www.melvagifford.com/2013/10/01/first-time-novelists/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *